Chemical Peels vs. Lasers: The Percentage Is Only One Variable.
Jessner. TCA. CO2. Er:YAG. Fraxel. MOXI. The name is not the plan. The right conversation begins with what you are treating, how deep it sits, how your skin heals, and what the option cannot fix.

Neither a chemical peel nor a laser is "better" in general. A peel uses chemistry and a laser uses light, and either can be superficial or intensive. Dr. Dusan Sajic of Sajic Longevity chooses between them by naming the diagnosis and the tissue depth first, using the achieved-injury framework from Soleymani, Lanoue and Rahman (Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, 2018), then picking the least injury that can reach the target.
- Peel depth is the injury actually achieved, not the percentage on the bottle.
- Superficial peels reach the epidermis, medium-depth peels the papillary dermis, deep peels the mid-reticular dermis.
- A laser name is not enough: ask for the device, wavelength, ablative or non-ablative, and full-field or fractional.
- 70% to 100% TCA CROSS is a focal scar technique, never a full-face "upgrade".
- No peel or laser lifts jowls or replaces lost volume.
This guide is educational. It does not diagnose a condition, determine candidacy, specify a peel protocol or laser setting, or replace an examination. What it does is give you the vocabulary and the questions that turn a vague treatment name into a real plan.
How is chemical peel depth actually determined?
A chemical peel is classified by the tissue injury it actually achieves. The acid name and the headline percentage are only part of that story. Agent, concentration, formula or vehicle, pH and free-acid availability where relevant, preparation and barrier condition, cumulative exposure, anatomy, skin factors and clinician technique together determine the injury. A percentage, product name or brand cannot guarantee depth, downtime, benefit or pigment outcome.
The clinical framework I use for that vocabulary is A Practical Approach to Chemical Peels by Soleymani, Lanoue and Rahman, published in the Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology in 2018 (11(8):21–28). It is a clinician-facing narrative review and practical framework. It is not a head-to-head efficacy trial, not a formal specialty guideline, and not proof that one peel is superior to another.
Superficial: reaches the epidermis
Controlled injury is confined to the epidermis, although disruption at the dermoepidermal junction can occur. Conventional anchors include glycolic 30–50%, lactic 10–30%, mandelic 40%, salicylic 30%, pyruvic 50%, classic Jessner used alone, and full-field TCA around 10–20%. Superficial does not mean risk-free, and none of these percentages guarantees the same injury in every formula or face.
Medium depth: reaches the papillary dermis
Conventional medium-depth anchors include glycolic 70%, full-field TCA 30–50%, and a Jessner plus TCA regimen intended for medium-depth injury. This is a wound-healing and pigment-risk conversation, and redness can outlast surface closure.
Deep: reaches the mid-reticular dermis
The canonical deep peel is the traditional Baker–Gordon phenol–croton oil formula. This is specialist deep resurfacing with prolonged wound care, and it carries individual cardiac, liver and kidney considerations alongside pigment and healing risk.
Where does each peel agent sit on the depth scale?
Each agent has conventional classification anchors in the literature, but those anchors are not instructions, and transition zones exist. The matrix below is adapted from Table 2 in Soleymani et al. with modern agent-specific evidence boundaries. Concentrations are conventional clinical mappings, not application guidance.
| Agent / formula | Superficial anchor | Transition / overlap | Medium-depth anchor | Deep / caution | Reading note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glycolic AHA | 30–50% | None listed | 70% | None listed | Conventional anchors |
| Lactic AHA | 10–30% | None listed | None listed | None listed | Not equivalent to glycolic by percentage |
| Mandelic AHA | 40% | None listed | None listed | None listed | Single-agent evidence limited |
| Pyruvic acid (alpha-keto acid) | 50% | Cumulative use varies | Reported with layered exposure | None listed | Not an AHA |
| Salicylic acid (BHA) | 20–30% | Higher or cumulative exposure | Possible | No standard mapping | Commonly called BHA |
| Classic Jessner | Used alone | None listed | Only within a distinct combination | None listed | Modified products are not standardized |
| Full-field TCA | 10–20% | About 20–30% overlap | 30–50% | About 50%+, historical and disfavoured | Not the CROSS continuum |
| Baker–Gordon / phenol | None listed | Pure phenol differs | Pure phenol may map here | Phenol–croton oil formula | About 50–55% phenol in a multi-component formula |
Two categories stay off this ladder on purpose. Focal TCA CROSS at 70%, 90% or 100% is scar-confined and is not a full-field strength. "Half Jessner" and generic "modified Jessner" do not identify one standardized formula or depth.
Book a consultation. Virtual consult: $150 nurse consult (includes SkinLife Analytics) or $499 45-minute physician consult with Dr. Sajic (includes TruAge biological age testing). Deposit applied in full to diagnostic testing. Book now →
What is the safest way to decide between a peel and a laser?
The safe decision is a sequence, not a percentage. This summarizes the clinical logic adapted from the patient-assessment and depth-selection approach in Soleymani et al. (Figure 1), without publishing settings, timing, passes, neutralization or DIY instructions.
- Name the diagnosis and target. Is the problem epidermal pigment, acne, photoaging, a scar shape, or something resurfacing cannot fix?
- Assess risk before depth. Review pigment reactions, melasma, barrier disease, medications, cold sores (HSV), healing, scarring, tanning and relevant medical history.
- Choose field versus focal. A broad surface concern and a discrete ice-pick scar are not the same treatment problem.
- Use the least injury that can reach the target. Deeper injury can increase effect, but also recovery burden, dyschromia risk, infection risk and scarring risk.
- Consent, preparation, aftercare, follow-up. The plan must name what can improve, what will not, the expected wound-healing burden, and when to call the clinician.
Three principles sit underneath that sequence. Depth is the injury achieved, so agent, percentage, formula, pH, barrier, exposure, anatomy and technique all matter. Fractional is not one treatment, because ablative versus non-ablative delivery and the exact wavelength change both the target and the recovery. And scar shape comes first, because ice-pick, boxcar and rolling scars do not reliably respond to one universal procedure.
First, fix the vocabularyWhat do "Half Jessner", "fentanyl peel", "IBM laser" and "fragile laser" actually mean?
They are misheard or non-standard names, and your consent form should not contain them. Voice-to-text and word of mouth scramble treatment names constantly. These corrections are not cosmetic details: confusing a brand with a wavelength, or a focal scar procedure with a full-face peel, changes the indication, the recovery and the risk conversation.
| You may hear | What it actually is | What to ask |
|---|---|---|
| "Half Jessner" | Not a standardized formula or depth. It is local clinic shorthand. | The exact named product, ingredients, total regimen and intended injury. |
| "Fentanyl peel" | The medical term is phenol. Traditional phenol–croton oil is specialist deep resurfacing, and pure phenol is not automatically the same depth. Fentanyl is an opioid, not a peel. | Is this a traditional phenol–croton oil formula or pure phenol, and what depth is intended? |
| "IBM laser" | The medical term is Er:YAG. Erbium:YAG is a 2,940 nm ablative laser category. | Full-field or fractional, and what recovery should I plan for? |
| "Fragile laser" | The brand is Fraxel. Fraxel is a platform, not one treatment. | Which model and which wavelength: 1550 nm, 1927 nm, or both? |
The same logic applies to MOXI. Fraxel Dual literature includes 1550 nm and 1927 nm technology; MOXI is a different 1927 nm device. They are not interchangeable names for the same treatment.
Is a chemical peel or a laser better for my skin?
It depends on the target, because the two tools use different physics. Chemical peels create a controlled chemical injury. Lasers deliver selected wavelengths in a defined pattern. Either can be superficial or more intensive, they are not interchangeable, and a bigger number does not automatically mean a better match.
Two rules make the comparison honest. First, the bottle does not tell you the injury: the percentage is only one input among many. Second, a laser name is not enough: you need the device, the wavelength, whether it is ablative, and whether delivery is full-field or fractional. Ablative lasers such as CO2 and Er:YAG remove tissue and create a wound; non-ablative fractional lasers leave the surface intact but still produce redness, swelling and flaking.
The clear comparisonChemical peel vs. laser comparison: what each may address, and what it does not
This table does not rank a winner. Each row lists what the category may address in selected patients, what it is usually not the primary answer for, its target and style, and the recovery conversation it should start.
Chemical peels
| Category | May address | Usually not primary for | Target / style | Recovery conversation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glycolic AHA | Selected superficial pigment or post-acne marks, mild photoaging and fine superficial lines, surface roughness, and selected mild acne as an adjunct. | Deep or tethered scars, deep wrinkles, laxity, volume loss, dermal pigment disease, nodulocystic acne, suspicious lesions, or permanent pigment-clearance promises. | 30–50% commonly superficial; 70% conventionally medium depth. AHA field peel; achieved depth is not fixed by percentage. | Often lighter when truly superficial; actual recovery follows the injury achieved. |
| Lactic AHA | Selected superficial pigment, mild photodamage or roughness, and fine superficial-line concerns. | Deep scars, substantial dermal remodelling, laxity, volume loss, or permanent pigment-clearance expectations. | 10–30% commonly superficial in the JCAD framework. AHA field peel; not interchangeable with glycolic by percentage. | Often used as a superficial option, but no formulation is automatically gentler or lower risk. |
| Mandelic AHA | Selected superficial dyschromia or erythema and, when the exact formula is named, a cautious acne-adjunct discussion. | Deep or tethered scars, deeper wrinkles, laxity, dermal pigment disease, or a claim of proven single-agent acne superiority. | 40% is conventionally superficial in the JCAD framework. Single-agent evidence is limited. | May be discussed as a superficial option; no formulation is automatically gentle or risk-free. |
| Pyruvic acid | Selected mild inflammatory or comedonal acne and excess-sebum concerns, mild photoaging, and superficial hyperpigmentation. | Deep or tethered scars, deep wrinkles, laxity, dermal pigment disease, or a claim of acne superiority over salicylic acid. | 50% conventionally superficial; some cumulative approaches may reach medium depth. Alpha-keto acid, not an AHA; achieved injury remains technique-dependent. | Variable by achieved injury; neither the agent name nor the percentage predicts recovery. |
| Salicylic acid (BHA) | Selected comedonal and mild-to-moderate inflammatory acne as an adjunct, selected superficial post-acne marks, and carefully selected stable epidermal melasma as an adjunct. | Nodulocystic acne, established atrophic scars, deep wrinkles, laxity, undifferentiated pigment disease, active infection, open skin, or an impaired barrier. | 20–30% usually very superficial or superficial; higher cumulative exposure may reach medium depth. Lipophilic, desmolytic and comedolytic. | Often lower-burden when truly superficial, but not automatically light. Recovery follows achieved injury. |
| Classic Jessner | Selected surface-level texture, mild photodamage, superficial dyschromia, and acne-adjunct discussions. | Deep pitted or tethered scars, deep wrinkles, laxity, volume loss, dermal melasma, or durable pigment-cure promises. | Conventionally superficial when used alone. A defined combination peel; may also be a primer in a separate regimen. | Often lighter when truly superficial; formula, vehicle, preparation, deposited amount, cumulative exposure, anatomy and technique still govern injury. |
| Modified Jessner | Only when the named formula, intended injury, diagnosis and product-specific evidence are clear. | Cross-clinic comparison by the phrase alone, or any claim that all modified formulas are uniformly safer or gentler. | Not standardized by the name alone. Product-specific formula; classic-Jessner evidence is not automatically transferable. | The product name does not predict depth or downtime; the exact formula and total regimen must be documented. |
| "Half Jessner" | Only after the clinician replaces the nickname with the exact product, formula, total regimen and intended injury. | Comparing clinics or choosing treatment by the shorthand alone. | Not a standardized depth category. Local shorthand that does not specify formula, strength, vehicle, injury or recovery. | No universal half-depth or half-downtime claim is valid. |
| Jessner + TCA regimen | Selected fine lines, photodamage, dyschromia, or selected superficial atrophic scars when a clinician justifies medium-depth injury. | A shortcut for deep scars, laxity, volume loss, or anyone without an individualized pigment and wound-healing plan. | A distinct total regimen that may be intended for medium-depth injury. Jessner may act as an in-procedure primer before the following agent. | Not the recovery profile of Jessner alone; consent follows the intended total injury. |
| TCA 10–20% field | Selected superficial sun damage, epidermal dyschromia, roughness, and mild photoaging or fine superficial lines. | Deep or tethered scars, deep wrinkles, jowling, ptosis, volume loss, active infection, an impaired barrier, or an undiagnosed lesion. | Usually superficial; approximately 20–30% is an overlap zone. Full-field chemical resurfacing; intended injury must be named. | A superficially classified field treatment can still produce visible redness and peeling. |
| TCA 30–35% field | Selected fine lines, chronic actinic photodamage, superficial pigment disorders, and selected superficial atrophic scars after morphology and risk assessment. | Deep tethered or rolling scars, laxity, volume loss, active infection, or major unresolved pigment or healing risk. | Conventional medium-depth field TCA. Intended to traverse the epidermis into papillary dermis, not a guaranteed histologic endpoint. | A wound-healing and pigment-risk conversation; redness can outlast surface closure. |
| TCA CROSS (scar-specific) | Selected discrete ice-pick scars and selected boxcar scars after scar-by-scar assessment; evidence is most consistent for ice-pick scars. | Routine full-face resurfacing, broad shallow texture, active acne or infection, unresolved healing risk, or rolling and broadly tethered scars as a universal first-line treatment. | Focal scar-confined injury, not a standardized full-field depth. Scar-by-scar chemical reconstruction outside the full-field TCA continuum. | Local healing varies with scar number and distribution, achieved injury and individual healing. Not comparable with a full-face peel. |
| Phenol–croton oil (specialist only) | A specialist discussion for selected moderate-to-severe photoaging and deeply furrowed resting facial wrinkles. | Laxity, jowling, ptosis, volume loss, spa care, self-treatment, suspicious lesions, or unacceptable individualized pigment, wound-healing, cardiac, liver or kidney risk. | Specialist deep resurfacing intended to reach mid-reticular dermis. Traditional multi-component formula; pure phenol is not interchangeable. | Prolonged wound care, and visible redness may continue after surface closure; no universal recovery duration applies. |
Lasers
| Category | May address | Usually not primary for | Target / style | Recovery conversation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ablative CO2 | Selected photoaging, texture, fine lines and atrophic scars when the recovery burden is justified. | A simple fix for laxity or lost volume; not appropriate with active infection, recent tan or major unresolved healing risk. | Ablative; full-field or fractional. Water-targeting ablation with residual thermal remodelling. | Fractional delivery usually reduces the treated surface area, but it still creates an ablative wound and visible recovery. |
| Ablative Er:YAG | Selected texture, fine lines, photodamage and atrophic scars after clinician assessment. | Laxity, volume loss, or anyone unable to follow wound care and follow-up. | Ablative; full-field or fractional. 2,940 nm water-targeting ablation with less residual heat than CO2. | More precise ablation and less residual heat do not eliminate wound care, infection, pigment or scar risk. |
| 1540/1550 nm fractional (e.g. Fraxel 1550) | Selected texture, fine lines and selected atrophic acne or surgical scars. | Deep tethered or ice-pick scars as a universal single treatment, laxity, lost volume, or dramatic one-step change. | Non-ablative fractional remodelling. Relatively dermal microscopic thermal zones. | Redness, swelling, dryness, bronzing and flaking can occur; "non-ablative" does not mean no risk or no recovery. |
| 1927 nm fractional (e.g. Fraxel 1927, MOXI) | Selected sun-related spots, uneven tone, photodamage and clinician-diagnosed field concerns. | Deep scars, laxity, lost volume, suspicious pigmented lesions, or melasma presented as a simple cure. | Relatively superficial non-ablative fractional. Epidermis-focused microscopic thermal zones. | Redness, swelling, dryness, bronzing and flaking may occur; recovery and risk vary by device and delivery. |
If you are weighing ablative CO2 specifically, the CO2 laser recovery guide walks through what the wound-healing burden looks like day by day.
Is a chemical peel or a laser better for acne scars?
Neither, until the scar shape is named. Ice-pick, boxcar and rolling or tethered scars are different shapes at different depths, and the scar map comes before the treatment name.
- Ice-pick scars are narrow and deep. Focal TCA CROSS may enter the discussion after acne control and a pigment and healing review.
- Boxcar scars are wider, sharply edged depressions. Selected scars may enter a focal discussion, but morphology and depth determine whether CROSS, resurfacing or another scar-directed method makes sense.
- Rolling or tethered scars are undulating depressions attached below the surface. CROSS is not a routine universal first-line choice; a release-oriented plan may matter more.
Why 70%, 90% or 100% TCA CROSS is not a full-face upgrade
This is the most dangerous comparison mistake. Those percentages come from small, heterogeneous studies of focal, scar-confined chemical reconstruction. Evidence is most consistent for selected ice-pick scars, with selected boxcar scars considered after scar-by-scar assessment. The studies do not establish a safe full-field concentration, a universal protocol, a fixed recovery, a guaranteed depth or a response rate.
A high TCA percentage placed inside a single scar and the same number painted across a face are not the same treatment. They are not even the same category.Your concern, the right questions
Which peel or laser should I ask about for my concern?
Start with the concern, not the treatment. The table maps each common concern to the categories worth discussing and the mismatch to avoid. It is a discussion starting point, not a self-prescription; your history, examination, pigment response and scar morphology are what narrow it.
| Main concern | Categories worth discussing | The mismatch to avoid | Ask the clinic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oil, congestion or active acne | Salicylic acid (BHA), pyruvic acid, glycolic AHA or classic Jessner as adjuncts; mandelic only when the exact formula is named. | Pretending a peel replaces acne care. Nodulocystic acne is not a peel problem. | What is treating the acne itself, and where does the peel fit as an adjunct? |
| Sun spots or post-acne marks | Glycolic or lactic AHA, TCA 10–20% field, salicylic acid for selected superficial marks, 1927 nm fractional. | Permanent pigment-clearance promises; treating a suspicious pigmented lesion before it is diagnosed. | What depth is the pigment, and what is my risk of darkening? |
| Melasma or pigment that returns | Carefully selected stable epidermal melasma may be discussed with salicylic acid as an adjunct; peels in melasma have consensus recommendations (Sarkar et al.). | Any promise that one procedure cures melasma. Dermal melasma is not a classic Jessner indication; 1927 nm is not a simple melasma cure. | What is the recurrence plan, and what happens between procedures? |
| Rough texture or enlarged pores | Superficial peels such as glycolic AHA for epidermal roughness; non-ablative 1540/1550 nm fractional, or ablative CO2 or Er:YAG, when the target is deeper texture remodelling. | Assuming deeper is better. Deeper injury will not lift jowls or replace lost volume. | Is my problem surface roughness or dermal remodelling? |
| Fine lines or photoaging | Superficial AHA or TCA 10–20% for fine superficial lines; TCA 30–35% or a Jessner + TCA regimen for medium-depth change; 1540/1550 nm, Er:YAG or CO2 for deeper remodelling. | Choosing more injury than the depth of change requires. | What is the least injury that can realistically reach this? |
| Depressed acne or surgical scars | Scar map first. Focal TCA CROSS for selected ice-pick and boxcar scars; 1540/1550 nm, CO2 or Er:YAG for selected atrophic scars; TCA 30–35% for selected superficial atrophic scars; release-oriented approaches for rolling scars. | Any single universal procedure for every scar type; TCA CROSS as a full-face peel. | Which of my scars are ice-pick, boxcar and rolling? |
| Deep wrinkles, laxity or a changing lesion | A changing lesion needs diagnosis first. Deeply furrowed resting wrinkles with moderate-to-severe photoaging may justify a specialist phenol–croton oil discussion. | Expecting any peel or laser to fix laxity, jowling or volume loss. | Is resurfacing even the right category for this? |
How recovery tolerance and pigment history change the answer
The same concern can lead to different categories depending on how much visible recovery you can realistically accommodate: lighter, moderate or intensive. If you have melasma, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH), or a history of dark marks after acne, irritation or procedures, say so first. That history changes the depth, the preparation and the risk conversation more than any brand name does.
Can darker skin have chemical peels or fractional lasers?
Yes, in carefully selected cases. Darker phototype is not an automatic exclusion, but it is a risk modifier. The most reassuring peel evidence is for carefully selected superficial injury; evidence for medium and deep peels in Fitzpatrick IV to VI is limited. Personal PIH or melasma, prior reactions, active inflammation, tanning, scar history and intended depth all matter. Non-ablative fractional resurfacing in skin of colour has its own evidence base (Alexis), and it still requires device- and wavelength-specific planning.
When should elective resurfacing be paused?
Some skin needs a diagnosis or stabilization first. A changing, bleeding, painful or atypical lesion; an active infection or cold sore; an open wound; marked dermatitis; a recent sunburn or tan; or uncontrolled inflammatory acne should prompt medical assessment rather than an online procedure choice. A changing lesion belongs in a skin cancer assessment before any cosmetic conversation.
Tell the clinician about pregnancy or breastfeeding, isotretinoin, photosensitizing medicines, hormones, prior procedures, pigment reactions, raised scars and delayed healing. The ASDS task force has published specific guidance on lasers, dermabrasion and chemical peels during and after isotretinoin use.
After a procedure, escalating pain, spreading redness, drainage or pus, fever, painful grouped blisters, ulceration or unexpectedly delayed healing deserve prompt clinical reassessment.
What questions should I ask before a chemical peel or laser?
A good consultation becomes more specific as the risk rises. It does not hide behind a brand name or a concentration. These seven questions expose a vague plan quickly.
- What is my diagnosis, and what layer or scar shape are we treating?
- For a peel: what exact product or formula, and what intended depth?
- For a laser: what exact device, model and wavelength?
- Is the laser ablative or non-ablative, and full-field or fractional?
- How do my melasma, PIH, tanning, cold-sore and healing histories change the plan?
- What can this option realistically improve, and what will it not fix?
- What visible wound-healing burden should I expect, and what changes require urgent reassessment?
Peels and lasers are also rarely the whole plan. Where skin quality has several drivers, the order of treatments matters as much as the choice; see the four parameters of skin quality and why combination treatments work.
Frequently asked questions
Is Jessner a medium-depth peel?
Classic Jessner alone is conventionally superficial. A named modified formula is not standardized. Jessner used as a primer before TCA is a distinct total regimen that may be intended for medium-depth injury; the total combination, not Jessner alone, defines that conversation.
What does "half Jessner" mean?
It is non-standard clinic shorthand, not a dose, formula, depth or predictable half-downtime category. Ask the provider to replace the nickname with the exact named product, ingredients, intended injury and total regimen.
Is 70 to 100% TCA the strongest full-face peel?
That is the wrong comparison. High-strength 70 to 100% TCA refers to focal TCA CROSS placed only in selected scars, primarily ice-pick scars. It is not a routine full-face peel, and the studies behind it do not establish a safe full-field concentration.
Is pure phenol the same as a Baker–Gordon phenol–croton oil peel?
No. The traditional Baker–Gordon multi-component phenol–croton oil formulation is the canonical deep-peel example. High-concentration pure phenol can produce only medium-depth injury because rapid protein coagulation can limit penetration. The complete formulation and technique, not the word phenol alone, matter.
Are Fraxel and MOXI the same?
No. Fraxel is a platform or brand, not one treatment. Fraxel Dual literature includes 1550 nm and 1927 nm technology; MOXI is a different 1927 nm device. Ask for the exact device, model and wavelength.
What is the difference between CO2 and Er:YAG lasers?
Both are ablative, water-targeting lasers. CO2 generally leaves more residual heat and thermal remodelling; Er:YAG at 2,940 nm is typically more precisely ablative with less residual heat. Full-field versus fractional delivery and the individual protocol matter as much as the wavelength name.
Can darker skin have peels or fractional lasers?
Darker phototype is not an automatic exclusion, but it is a risk modifier. The most reassuring peel evidence is for carefully selected superficial injury; evidence for medium and deep peels in Fitzpatrick IV to VI is limited. Personal PIH or melasma, prior reactions, active inflammation, tanning, scar history and intended depth all matter.
Verifiable sources
This comparison synthesizes narrative reviews, systematic reviews, consensus guidance, selected trials and cohort studies. Comparative evidence remains heterogeneous. Soleymani et al. is used as a practical depth framework, not as a head-to-head efficacy trial or formal specialty guideline. This page intentionally omits application timing, layers, procedural endpoints, neutralization instructions and DIY protocols.
- Soleymani T, Lanoue J, Rahman Z. A Practical Approach to Chemical Peels. J Clin Aesthet Dermatol. 2018;11(8):21–28. PMCID PMC6122508; PMID 30214663.
- Rendon MI, et al. Evidence and considerations in the application of chemical peels in skin disorders and aesthetic resurfacing.
- Chen X, et al. Chemical peels for acne vulgaris: systematic review of randomized controlled trials.
- Sitohang IBS, et al. Trichloroacetic acid peeling for treating photoaging: a systematic review.
- Prestes PS, Oliveira MMM, Leonardi GR. Randomized clinical efficacy of superficial peeling with 85% lactic acid versus 70% glycolic acid.
- Wójcik A, Kubiak M, Rotsztejn H. Influence of azelaic and mandelic acid peels on sebum secretion in ageing women.
- Jankowska B, Zujko ME. The effectiveness of pyruvic acid peeling in improving quality of life in patients with acne vulgaris.
- Arif T. Salicylic acid as a peeling agent: a comprehensive review.
- Dayan E, Rohrich RJ. Jessner's solution with trichloroacetic acid chemical peel: optimizing outcomes and safety.
- Puri N. Modified Jessner plus 20% TCA versus 20% TCA alone for acne scars (small unblinded comparison).
- Chung HJ, Al Janahi S, Cho SB, Chang YC. Chemical reconstruction of skin scars (CROSS) method for atrophic scars: a comprehensive review.
- Khunger N, Bhardwaj D, Khunger M. Evaluation of 100% TCA CROSS for ice-pick acne scars in darker skin types.
- Agarwal N, et al. Therapeutic response of 70% TCA CROSS in atrophic acne scars.
- Liapakis IE, et al. Clinical aspects and risks of the phenol/croton oil peel.
- Rullan P, et al. Cardiac safety in full-face phenol–croton oil peels: a 22-year retrospective study. J Am Acad Dermatol.
- Preissig J, Hamilton K, Markus R. Current laser resurfacing technologies: a review that delves beneath the surface.
- Alexis AF. Nonablative fractional laser resurfacing in skin of color: evidence-based review.
- Sarkar R, et al. Chemical peels in melasma: review with consensus recommendations.
- Vemula S, et al. Assessing the safety of superficial chemical peels in darker skin: a retrospective study.
- ASDS Guidelines Task Force. Safety of lasers, dermabrasion and chemical peels during and after isotretinoin use.
Where this fits at Sajic Longevity. Bring the comparison to a real examination and ask us to name the target before the treatment. We use your history, examination, pigment response and scar morphology to narrow the options: the exact concern and depth, your pigment and healing history, what each option cannot fix, and a sequenced recovery plan. Book a consultation or call 1-888-430-4665.
Name the target before the treatment.
Your history, pigment response and scar shape decide between a peel and a laser. Not a brand name or a percentage.
CO2 laser resurfacing
How ablative fractional CO2 works, who it suits, and what recovery involves.
Read more → BookBook a consultation
Virtual consult: $150 nurse consult (includes SkinLife Analytics) or $499 45-minute physician consult with Dr. Sajic (includes TruAge biological age testing). Deposit applied in full to diagnostic testing.
Book now → Shop Sajic Skin ScienceProtectif SPF 50
Daily broad-spectrum protection. A recent tan or sunburn is a reason to pause resurfacing.
Shop now →Not sure which is right for you? Call 1-888-430-4665 or email consult@sajicskin.com and our team will point you to the right starting point.
This article is for education and general information only. It is not medical advice, does not establish a physician-patient relationship, and should not replace consultation with a qualified healthcare provider. It does not specify peel protocols, laser settings or procedural instructions. Individual results vary. Treatment decisions are made only after an individual assessment.